DRAFT MINUTES

ADVISORY BOARD ON POLYSOMNOGRAPHY Minutes October 18, 2013

The Advisory Board on Polysomnography met on Friday, October 18, 2013 at 1:00 p.m. at the Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Henrico, Virginia.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Debbie Akers, Chair

Robert Vorona, M.D., Vice Chair

Michelle Sartelle Anna Rodriquez Marie Quinn

MEMBERS ABSENT: None

STAFF PRESENT: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director

Alan Heaberlin, Deputy Executive Director for Licensure

Elaine Yeatts, Senior Regulatory Analyst Bradley Verry, Licensing Specialist

GUESTS PRESENT: Kathe Henke, VASM

Sharon Mathis, Bon Secours

Call TO ORDER

Ms. Akers called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

EMERGENCY EGRESS PROCEDURES

Ms. Akers announced the Emergency Egress Procedures.

ROLL CALL

Roll was called. A quorum was present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM October 5, 2012

Dr. Vorona moved to adopt the minutes. The motion was seconded and carried.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Ms. Rodriquez moved to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and carried.

NEW BUSINESS

#1. Public Comment for Proposed Regulations Governing the Practice of Polysomnographic Technologists

Ms. Henke informed the Advisory Board that the Virginia Academy of Sleep Medicine supports the proposed regulations. There were no other comments. Ms. Yeatts reviewed the proposed regulations with the Advisory Board. Dr. Vorona moved to approve the proposed regulations as presented. The motion was seconded and carried.

#2. Meeting Calendar for 2014 – Debbie Akers

Ms. Akers reviewed the meeting calendar for 2014 with the Advisory Board. Ms Sartelle motioned to approve the meeting calendar. The motion was seconded and carried.

#3. Election of Officers

Dr. Vorona moved to nominate Anna Rodriquez to serve as Chair. The motion was seconded and carried. Ms. Rodriguez was elected unanimously. Ms. Rodriquez nominated Debbie Akers to serve as Vice-Chair. The motion was seconded and carried. Ms. Akers was confirmed by unanimous consent.

ANNOUNCEMENTS None NEXT SCHEDULED MEETING February 7, 2014 at 1:00 p.m. ADJOURNMENT The meeting of the Advisory board was adjourned at 1:55. Debbie Akers, Chair William L. Harp, M.D.

Executive Director

Bradley Verry, Licensing Specialist